Photo

Emperor's Children - First Strike! Jetbikes ahoy!

• Please log in to reply
204 replies to this topic

#1 Eidolon

Eidolon

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 196 posts

Posted 01 February 2016 - 11:27 AM

Hi folks,

I’ve just stumbled on this site and am impressed with all the Emperor's Childreny goodness on offer! Hopefully we can help Illuminate each others quest for perfection... I've been kicking around on the Bolter and Chainsword for many years, nice to see a few familiar faces here too!

I long held a fondness for the III legion since the old days of Rogue Trader. The Index Astartes article prompted me to get back in to 40k. However I was struck by the tragic nature of their fall. Then the Horus Heresy books came along, and how could I not love the Fulgrim novel. I actually liked the ending – it is now a bit anti-climax given Fulgrim escaped the painting… but that is for another post.

I’ve recently upped sticks from the UK and ended up in Oz; this has seen a re-kindling of my interest in GW after break of well over a decade! I couldn't bear parting with my 40K EC's and after pondering it for a while, but I have finally got around starting a pre-heresy force of the glorious III Legion.

I am basing it before the events of Istvaan, so it is whilst the legion was still loyal, however I will add in some specific traitor units whilst keeping the bulk ‘either way’ in appearance. I also think it will be fun to convert up some of the characters. I am much more of a painter than a gamer, so shall probably concentrate of what I want to paint, as opposed to what I ‘should’ paint!

My initial thoughts were to base it around Marius Vairosean’s third company ( I just liked his grumpiness!), but as mentioned about by swopping the Captain/Command it can easily be another company, such as Solomon Demeter’s Second…..