Jump to content


Photo

Dual Thunder Hammers- an impossible dream?


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Bluetip

Bluetip

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
  • LocationManchester, United Kingdom

Posted 08 August 2017 - 12:13 PM

Hi folks,

 

I'm hoping to shed some light on a question that's been bugging me for a while. I'm converting a character to have 2 Thunder Hammers and I'm fairly sure I'll have to count one as a power weapon (or similar). 

 

As I don't have access to all of the books, I thought i'd ask if there's a way to field both of them as hammers or am I going to have to suck it up.

 

Here's a picture for reference/critique.

 

 

 Attached File  FB_IMG_1502192646216.jpg   18.3K   54 downloads


  • LIzaDiush likes this

#2 XorArch

XorArch

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 30 posts

Posted 08 August 2017 - 01:00 PM

Centurions (and some consuls) and Preators may exchange their boldpistol and/or CCW for a thunder hammer, so yes definitely possible. Its an expensive option without to much benefit except for it being a cool look, but possible.



#3 Bluetip

Bluetip

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
  • LocationManchester, United Kingdom

Posted 08 August 2017 - 01:14 PM

Centurions (and some consuls) and Preators may exchange their boldpistol and/or CCW for a thunder hammer, so yes definitely possible. Its an expensive option without to much benefit except for it being a cool look, but possible.

 

 

Ah cool, I've always read that as meaning you could only exchange for a single hammer (and the listed points cost only refers to one afaik). I'm assuming i'd just double the upgrade cost to pay for two. Though it's more than possible that I'm missing the whole point here.



#4 bama

bama

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 155 posts

Posted 08 August 2017 - 07:28 PM

If you are wearing terminator armor, I don't believe you can dual wield thunderhammers. But, in power armor it is possible.


  • Bluetip likes this

#5 Bluetip

Bluetip

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
  • LocationManchester, United Kingdom

Posted 09 August 2017 - 09:47 AM

If you are wearing terminator armor, I don't believe you can dual wield thunderhammers. But, in power armor it is possible.

 

Thanks mate. My guy is in Artificer armour (see picture) so that's fine. I've wanted to convert one since seeing a picture in an old Space Marine codex of a Chapter Master with 2 hammers (think it was a Karl Kopinski piece). 



#6 bama

bama

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 155 posts

Posted 09 August 2017 - 04:12 PM

I'm starting a Blackshields army and I'm thinking about dual powerfists on my reaver lord. With artificer armor, iron halo, and a cyber familiar equipped, he should be a beast. Make him chymeira and he hits at strength 10.


  • Bluetip likes this

#7 Nightcloak

Nightcloak

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 227 posts

Posted 11 August 2017 - 08:23 AM

grab a lightning claw and a power fist for more versatility ;)



#8 Bluetip

Bluetip

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
  • LocationManchester, United Kingdom

Posted 14 August 2017 - 12:29 PM

grab a lightning claw and a power fist for more versatility ;)

Versatility? Pffft. In-game usefulness? No thanks. Winning games sometimes? Ha!



#9 Spudasaurous

Spudasaurous

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 69 posts

Posted 15 August 2017 - 11:19 AM

Does it guve you an extra attack or something?

#10 Bluetip

Bluetip

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
  • LocationManchester, United Kingdom

Posted 15 August 2017 - 12:47 PM

Does it guve you an extra attack or something?

I guess you get an extra attack for the second close combat weapon but it's more because it looks good. 



#11 TLB

TLB

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 80 posts

Posted 16 August 2017 - 06:53 AM

Am I the only who thinks that this is jus gross?

#12 Bluetip

Bluetip

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
  • LocationManchester, United Kingdom

Posted 16 August 2017 - 09:58 AM

Am I the only who thinks that this is jus gross?

 

Probably not. But my Centurion won't care when he's staving in skulls like it's going out of style. 



#13 bama

bama

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 155 posts

Posted 17 August 2017 - 06:05 AM

I look at it as the rule of cool over actual performance.

 


  • Bluetip likes this

#14 KJ_Rowsell

KJ_Rowsell

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 687 posts
  • LocationPortsmouth

Posted 18 August 2017 - 12:30 AM

I would use it for modelling purpose but have one of them count as a paragon blade because otherwise your spending 20pts on nothing 🙂
  • Bluetip and firstsilentprophet like this
In the darkess hour, you'll find the truth of who you are.

#15 Bluetip

Bluetip

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
  • LocationManchester, United Kingdom

Posted 18 August 2017 - 10:20 AM

I would use it for modelling purpose but have one of them count as a paragon blade because otherwise your spending 20pts on nothing

Cheers Roswell, that's been my thinking too. I'm going heavy on the rule of cool but would like a way to field him in game (even if he's not optimal). 



#16 KJ_Rowsell

KJ_Rowsell

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 687 posts
  • LocationPortsmouth

Posted Today, 12:56 AM

Cheers Roswell, that's been my thinking too. I'm going heavy on the rule of cool but would like a way to field him in game (even if he's not optimal).


Defiantly, if you just say to someone it's a paragon blade and hammer they will be fine... if they're not they are probably not worth playing with.

If I ever go back to the World Eaters I would be going rule of cool with a lot of lightening claws for all of the power weapons to show all the blood!
In the darkess hour, you'll find the truth of who you are.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users